Black Hills Knowledge Netowork

Custer County

Custer County, South Dakota, spans 1,559 square miles of the south western Black Hills, bordering Wyoming to the west. The county seat and largest city is also named Custer. Other communities in Custer County are Buffalo Gap, Fairburn, Hermosa, and Pringle.

The city of Custer was staked out in 1875. But when gold was discovered in Deadwood Gulch, 56 miles to the north, the gold boom busted, and Custer city became a near ghost town overnight.

Latest News

525 University Loop, Suite 202
Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 716-0058   [email protected]